Take a step back into the history, enjoy the fascinating past of historical buildings – discover the manors in Saldus municipality!
The manor is located in Kalsētas park, on the banks of the Ciecere river. It was built in 1872 and also includes servants’ quarters, a park and a barn. The first owner of the manor was Georg von Recke, who named the property “Berghof”, which means “the manor on the hill”. Nowadays, Saldus Technical School is located there.
Jaunauce manor is a national architectural monument of Empire style. It was built for count Medem at the beginning of the 19th century. The interior complex of the late Classicism is preserved, as well as the only authentic dome painting of Classicism style in Latvia and the largest collection of stoves (7 stoves) from the beginning of the 19th century. When the barons von der Ropp lived here, the manor housed an impressive collection of artworks by Raphael, Leonardo da Vinci and Thorvaldsen. This collection can be seen using digital technology in the augmented reality exhibition “Vārti”.
Vadakste manor house has been the property of baron Bistram’s family since the 16th century. The first manor house (later servants’ house) was built in the late 18th century. The new manor house was built in 1911-1914 in neoclassical style. A hall with a fireplace in Art nouveau style, a wide wooden staircase and glazed tile stoves in the oval hall have been preserved. The manor house is surrounded by a park created in the 18th and 19th centuries and featuring rare tree species.
Reņģe manor is located on the bank of the Vadakste river. It was built for baron von Nolcken in French Baroque style in 1882. A water tower was built next to it. A beautiful linden alley leads to the manor house, which is surrounded by a picturesque park. Nowadays, it houses Ruba elementary school.
Striķi manor was built at the beginning of the 19th century. Several buildings including the granary, the dwelling house and the gardener’s house, as well as the manor park (4 hectares) can still be viewed. Nowadays, the local culture centre is located in the manor house.
Jaunmuiža Manor And Park
The manor was built at the beginning of the 19th century. A park featuring foreign tree species was planted around the manor house during the time of prince Liven. Noteworthy is the old Jaunmuiža granary and the former servants’ house where Colonel Jukums Vācietis was born. Nowadays, the manor houses Jaunlutriņi elementary school.
Lielezere Manor And Park
The manor was built between the Vadakste and Suste rivers in the 18th-19th centuries. The park surrounding the manor (24.1 hectares) features 36 foreign trees and shrubs, and there are nice walking paths. The great rock “The Ruler of Vadakste” (“Vadakstes valdnieks”) is 4.2m tall and can be seen in the park.
The manor house was built in 1800 in Berlin classicism style. Unfortunately, it was damaged by fire twice, therefore the interior was destroyed. Since 1921 Remte elementary school has been located there. The manor house is surrounded by a large landscape park.
Jaunauce Rectory “Oši”
Jaunauce rectory “Oši” is located by the Ezere river in picturesque surroundings. The notable researcher of Latvian language and ethnography, pastor August Bielenstein spent his childhood and later 15 years working here. The two largest oak trees in Jaunauce parish grow in the rectory park.